A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

Dustin Martin makes history with third Norm Smith medal


Richmond superstar Dustin Martin has become the first person in VFL/AFL history to win three Norm Smith medals, after his 21-disposal, four-goal effort saw him claim the honour in the 2020 decider.

Martin took out the prestigious honour in both the 2017 and 2019 grand finals. The only other multiple winners of the award are Gary Ayres (1986 and 1988), Andrew McLeod (1997 and 1998) and Luke Hodge (2008 and 2014).

Martin’s first goal came at a pivotal moment in the second quarter. With the Tigers facing a 21-point deficit, he unleashed a trademark fend-off and no-look snap to put Richmond within three goals at half time.

His second capped off a run of four unanswered Richmond goals in the third quarter, before he arguably kicked the sealer with a superb kick on the run late in the fourth.

He then capped off the evening with a ridiculous party trick kick with his back to the boundary when the match was already won.

Norm Smith voting

1st – Dustin Martin, 15 votes
2nd – Jayden Short, 6
3rd – Shane Edwards, 4
4th – Mitch Duncan, 3
5th – Nathan Broad, 2

Leigh Matthews – Martin, Broad, Edwards
Lauren Arnell – Martin, Short, Duncan
Malcolm Blight – Martin, Duncan, Edwards
Damian Barrett – Martin, Short, Edwards
Peter Ryan – Martin, Short, Edwards

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.