A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

MLB Home Run Derby winners and history: Every champion and record


MLB Home Run Derby winners and records as we look back on the All-Star showcase and every champion in the history of the event. 

As Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine famously said in an iconic commercial, chicks dig the long ball. By that measure, they must be swooning every summer whenever the MLB Home Run Derby takes place.

One of the staples of the MLB All-Star break, the MLB Home Run Derby is truly a blast. It doesn’t get any better than watching some of the best power-hitters in baseball send moonshots all over the ballpark as many times as they can — especially in head-to-head competition.

While the Derby really gained popularity in the 1990s, the precursor to the All-Star Game actually began in 1985 in its first year. That’s nearly 40 years worth of MLB Home Run Derby winners who have etched their names in history. So let’s take a look back at all of them in addition to the records that have been set along the way.

MLB Home Run Derby winners: Every champion

  • 1985: Dave Parker, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1986: Wally Joyner, California Angels (AL) | Darryl Strawberry, New York Mets (NL)
  • 1987: Andre Dawson, Chicago Cubs
  • 1988: Event Cancelled
  • 1989: Rubén Sierra, Texas Rangers (AL) | Eric Davis, Cincinnati Reds (NL)
  • 1990: Ryne Sandberg, Chicago Cubs
  • 1991: Cal Ripken Jr., Baltimore Orioles
  • 1992: Mark McGwire, Oakland Athletics
  • 1993: Juan Gonzalez, Texas Rangers
  • 1994: Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle Mariners
  • 1995: Frank Thomas, Chicago White Sox
  • 1996: Barry Bonds, San Francisco Giants
  • 1997: Tino Martinez, New York Yankees
  • 1998: Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle Mariners
  • 1999: Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle Mariners
  • 2000: Sammy Sosa, Chicago Cubs
  • 2001: Luis Gonzalez, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • 2002: Jason Giambi, New York Yankees
  • 2003: Garret Anderson, Anaheim Angels
  • 2004: Miguel Tejada, Baltimore Orioles
  • 2005: Bobby Abreu, Philadelphia Phillies
  • 2006: Ryan Howard, Philadelphia Phillies
  • 2007: Vladimir Guerrero, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
  • 2008: Justin Morneau, Minnesota Twins
  • 2009: Prince Fielder, Milwaukee Brewers
  • 2010: David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox
  • 2011: Robinson Canó, New York Yankees
  • 2012: Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers
  • 2013: Yoenis Céspedes, Oakland Athletics
  • 2014: Yoenis Céspedes, Oakland Athletics
  • 2015: Todd Frazier, Cincinnati Reds
  • 2016: Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins
  • 2017: Aaron Judge, New York Yankees
  • 2018: Bryce Harper, Washington Nationals
  • 2019: Pete Alonso, New York Mets
  • 2020: Event Cancelled
  • 2021: Pete Alonso, New York Mets
  • 2022: Juan Soto, Washington Nationals

There is some interesting trivia involved with this. Ken Griffey Jr. has won the MLB Home Run Derby the most time with three victories while Pete Alonso, Yoenis Céspedes, and Prince Fielder are the only other players with multiple victories. Fielder, meanwhile, is the only player to win two Home Run Derby titles with different teams.

MLB Home Run Derby records

  • Most Home Runs in a Single Round: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., 40 (2019 Second Round)
  • Most Home Runs in a Single Derby: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., 91 (2019)
  • Most Home Runs in Home Run Derby history: Pete Alonso, 174

As you’ll notice, many of the records have been set more recently. Part of that has to do with rule changes. But what’s more interesting is that Vladdy and Julio Rodriguez are No. 1 and 2 for the most home runs in a single derby, but neither actually won that event as they faded in the finals, losing to Alonso and Juan Soto, respectively.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.